seventh anniversary

Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS) celebrated its Seventh anniversary amidst special program organized in its premises at Bhandarkhal, Sanobharyang on 24th May 2019. The Chief Guest of the program was General Purnachandra Thapa, Chief of Army Staff of Nepalese Army. Former CoAS, high-ranking military and police officials, dignitaries from Tribhuvan University,TU(IOM), Nepal Medical Council,Nepal Nursing Council, CTEVT, and from other eminent health institution of the valley, faculty members, staffs, and students of NAIHS attended the program.

Brig. Gen. (Rtd.) Prof.Dr. B. K. Hamal, Deputy Executive Director of NAIHS, initiated the formal program with a welcome speech. Maj. Gen. (Rtd.) Prof.Dr. Bachhuram KC, Executive Director of NAIHS, presented the annual report highlighting the achievements of the institute and its forthcoming projects. Prof.Dr.Tirtha Raj Khaniya, Vice Chancellor of Tribhuvan University, Prof.Dr.Dharmakanta Baskota, President of Nepal Medical Council, and Prof.Dr.Jagdish Prasad Agrawal, Dean of Institute of Medicine of Tribhuvan University and Mr. Pushpa Raman Wagle, Member Secretary of CTEVT congratulated the NAIHS family on its Seventh anniversary.

During the program, CoAS Gen. Thapa distributed running shields to the representatives of the winning houses in annual sports events. Ms. Srijana Shrestha and Ms. Sonu Thapa on behalf of the Blue House of College of Nursing, Mr. Niraj Bogati and Ms Ashmita Koirala on behalf of the blue House of College of Medicine and Mr Nirmal Khadka and Ms Ritu Barna Upadhyay on behalf of the Green House form College of Medical Polytechnic.

CoAS Gen. Thapa bestowed awards, mementos, and cash prizes upon the students of NAIHS with excellence in academics, discipline, and extracurricular activities. Ms. Smriti Basnet received the Best Student of the Year Award in PCL Nursing stream, Ms. Anita Sharma received the Best Student of the Year Award in B.Sc. Nursing stream and Ms Manisha Joshi received the Best Student of the Year Award in Bachelor in Nursing Science (BNS) stream.

CoAS Gen. Thapa awarded Ms. Bidushi Pokharel with the Best Graduate of the Year award for her excellent all-round performance. The most coveted CoAS Academic Excellence Gold Medal in MBBS Program of this year was received by Ms. Prathana Subedi for her excellent academic record in Integrated Basic Medical Sciences. Late Prof.Dr.R.P.Upadhyay Memorial Gold Medal for the best Performance in Clinical Anatomy of this year was given to Ms Pratharna Subedi from Ms Anju Upadhyay, daughter of late Prof.Dr.R.P.Upadhyay.

Late Lt. Col. (Rtd.) ShasikalaRajbhandari Memorial Gold Medal award was given to Ms. Sweta Sikhrakar, a graduate of PCL Nursing Programme for her excellent all-round performance, by Mr. Dil Bikash Rajbhandari, the husband of Late Lt. Col. Shashikala Rajbhandari.

On his congratulatory speech, CoAS Gen. Thapa lauded the faculty members and the students of NAIHS for their diligence and excelling in the University examination. CoAS Gen. Thapa also thanked and congratulated the entire NAIHS family on their efforts in making NAIHS a prime medical education institute in the country within a short span of time. He highlighted the vision of Nepalese Army to develop NAIHS as the 'Centre of Excellence’ in the field of medical education in Nepal by expanding its services and facilities.

Brig. Gen. Prof.Dr.Nagendra Bahadur KC, Principal of College of Medicine, closed the formal program with a vote of thanks.

The guests and the members of NAIHS family interacted with each other in a lunch session that followed the formal program. Ms.Madinika Ghimire, a student from College of Medicine and Ms. Usha Ghimire, a student from College of Nursing anchored the program.