News Details

First CONCOM 2017

Promoting population health: Issues, Challenges and Opportunities in Nepal

Nepalese Society of Community Medicine ( NESCOM ) is a society of Community medicine MD graduates was established in 2016 with a vision to ensure highest attainable health of people of Nepal.

To complete its mission, prevention of disease, health promotion, advocacy, research, health dialogue and public health action to ensure better population health, the society organised a one day conference called First Conference of Community Medicine 2017 ( 1st CONCOM 2017) under the CONCOM Organising committee ( Annex 1)  with Organising Chairperson, Prof Dr Lochana Shrestha and Organising Secretary, Dr Lee Budhathoki.

Theme of the conference:

Promoting population health: Issues, Challenges and Opportunities in Nepal


The first CONCOM was held on 27th of August 2017 in the Auditorium Hall of Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences, Sanobharyang, Kathmandu. A Pre conference workshop on Non communicable disease and Neglected Tropical Disease and a Panel discussion on Curriculum development for MD Community medicine followed by election of the Executive working committee was held on 26th August 2017.

The conference started with the session on Public health emergencies followed by inauguration ceremony (Table 1.1). The welcome speech was delivered by Prof Dr Lochana Shrestha, where she talked on the immense need for recognition of the capabilities of the Community medicine graduates for health system strengthening and achieving health for all. She focussed on the need to open opportunities for community medicine graduates specially in government sector and the need for the graduates to reach out for such opportunities. The Chief Guest, Dr Puspa Chaudhary, Acting Health Secretary , Ministry of Health, congratulated the society on organising the conference and highlighted the pivotal role community medicine experts and public health person could play on health emergencies like the current scenario of the flood in eastern Nepal. Other distinguished guests like Prof Dr Jagdish Agrawal, Dean TU and Prof Dr Rajendra Koju, Dean KU also talked about how community medicine experts should come forward and work for health of the population. The conference was also attended by distinguished guests from Nepalese Army(NA), Maj Gen Dr Naresh Kumar Giri, DGMS and Maj Gen Dr Bachchu Ram K.C. (Retd), Executive Director of Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences and other guest from academic sectors, Government and non government organisations. Over 200 participants which included MD graduates of Community Medicine,residents of Community medicine, faculties of medical college from clinical and basic sciences,public health experts and undergraduates and graduates of medicine and allied science like pharmacy and nursing from all over the country were there.

The conference was also an opportunity to felicitate the first three pioneers of Community Medicine in Nepal;Prof Dr Nilambar Jha, Prof Dr Paras K Pokharel and Prof Dr Lochana Shrestha.

Public health oration award called NESCOM oration award was awarded to Prof Dr Mahesh Maskey, Chairman of Public Health Foundation.He gave an enlightening oration on the theme.

The session Vaccines: Past, Present and Future was run in parallel to the poster and paper presentations.( Table 1.1)

A special guest speech on Sustainable Development Goals and Nepal was given by Dr Yuba Raj Khadiwada, Former Vice-Chairman, National Planning Commission;Former Governor, Nepal Rastra Bank.

The session on Research in Public health was then conducted followed by a very active Panel discussion on Community Medicine Specialist: Beyond Academics. In the closing ceremony, awards for best oral paper and best poster presentations were given to Dr Reshu Agrawal Sagtani for her paper, Smoking And Quality Of Life Is There An Association? and to Dr Dharti Joshi for her poster on Study On Factors Associated With Pelvic Organ Prolapse In Eastern Region Of Nepal: A Case Control Study. The conference ended with the Closing speech and Vote of thanks by Dr Lee Budhathoki.

Outcome :

The conference brought  all the graduates of community medicine and public health experts closer to work for the betterment of the society to attain its objectives.

Through the scientific sessions, the society highlighted and educated on important issues pertaining to prevention and promotion of population health.

The conference provided an excellent academic platform for budding researchers to present their work to the scientific society. By awarding the best paper and poster in the conference, NESCOM promoted new researchers to continue their passion for research.

Annex 1 CONCOM Organising Committee

S No





Prof Dr Nilambar Jha




Prof Dr Paras K Pokharel




Prof Dr Lochana Shrestha

Organising Chairperson



Dr Lee Budhathoki

Organising Secretary



Dr Dipesh Tamrakar

Organising Joint Secretary



Dr Bikal Shrestha

Logistics Committee



Dr Namrata Bhatta

Logistics Committee

Coordination Committee


Dr Neeti Singh

Finance Committee



Mr Gyanendra Joshi

Finance Committee



Dr Puspanjali Adhikari

Scientific Committee

Media Handling


Dr Pranil MS Pradhan

Scientific Committee



Dr Naveen Phuyal

Scientific Committee



Dr Surya Parajuli

Scientific Committee



Dr Niraj Shrestha

Coordination Committee



Dr Abha Shrestha

Coordination Committee


 Table 1.1 Details of Sessions of 1st CONCOM

Name of the session

Session Description

Public Health Emergencies

In this one hour session, speakers like Dr Naveen Phuyal , Dr Bikal Shrestha and Dr Asha Pun discussed  what public health emergencies are and role of community medicine specialist in public health emergencies along with shelters in disaster.

Chairpersons for the session were Prof Dr A.L. Sharma and Brig Gen Dr Nagendra Bahadur K.C.

Vaccines: Past, Present and Future

In this session topics like Adult vaccine and travel vaccine, Vaccines for healthcare workers and Childhood vaccines were covered by speakers Dr Prativa Pandey, Dr Lee Budhathoki and Dr Ashish KC.

Chairpersons for the session were Prof Dr Ramesh Kanta Adhikari and Dr Binod L Bajracharya (President, NEPAS)

Research in Public Health : Challenges and way forward

Chaired by Dr Anjani Jha and  Prof Dr Sharad Onta, this one hour session discussed on various topics like Research in Public health,research opportunities at national level and internationally by speakers like Prof Dr Nilambar Jha, Dr Krishna Aryal (NHRC) and Dr Biraj Karmacharya (KU)

Panel discussion: Community Medicine Specialists: Beyond Academics

Moderated by Dr Abhinav Vaidya the panellist were Dr Rajendra Prasad Pant,DG,DoHS; Prof Dr A.L. Sharma; Prof Dr Nilambar Jha; Prof Dr Lochana Shrestha; Dr Anindya Shekhar Bose from WHO and Associate Prof Dr Vinutha Silvanus.

Published Date: 11 Sep, 2017

More News

Published Date: 02 Dec, 2018 Published Date: 12 Oct, 2018 Published Date: 28 Oct, 2018 Published Date: 14 Feb, 2020 Published Date: 19 Jul, 2020 Published Date: 06 Oct, 2020

Notice Board

News and Updates

Event Calendar

NAIHS Photo Tour

Brochures And Prospectus