NAIHS 4th anniversary

Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS) celebrated its fourth anniversary amidst special program organized in its premises at Bhandarkhal, Sanobharyang on May 23, 2016. The Chief Guest of the program was General Rajendra Chhetri, Chief of Army Staff of Nepalese Army. Former CoAS, high-ranking military and police officials, dignitaries from Tribhuvan University,TU(IOM), Nepal Medical Council,Nepal Nursing Council and from other eminent health institution of the valley, faculty members, staffs, and students of NAIHS attended the program.

Brig. Gen. (Rtd.) Prof. Dr. B. K. Hamal, Deputy Executive Director of NAIHS, initiated the formal program with a welcome speech. Maj. Gen. (Rtd.) Prof. Dr. Prakash Raj Pande, Executive Director of NAIHS, presented the annual report highlighting the achievements of the institute and its forthcoming projects. Prof. Dr. Tirtha Raj Khaniya, Vice Chancellor of Tribhuvan University, Prof. Dr. Dharmakanta Baskota, President of Nepal Medical Council, and Prof. Dr. Bimal Kumar Sinha, Dean of Institute of Medicine of Tribhuvan University and Asso. Prof. Ms. Chandra Kala Sharma President of Nepal Nursing Council congratulated the NAIHS family on its fourth anniversary.

During the program, CoAS Gen. Chhetri distributed running shields to the representatives of the winning houses in annual sports events. Ms. Anjana Ghimire and Ms. Sangita Khadka on behalf of the Red House of College of Nursing and Mr. Aryan Parajuli and Ms. Anushruti Bista, on behalf of the Red House of College of Medicine.

CoAS Gen. Chhetri bestowed awards, mementos, and cash prizes upon the students of NAIHS with excellence in academics, discipline, and extracurricular activities. Ms. Alisha Hona received the Best Student of the Year Award in PCL Nursing stream, Ms. Sweksha Joshi received the Best Student of the Year Award in B.Sc. Nursing stream and Ms. Sushila Neupane received the Best Student of the Year Award in Bachelor in Nursing Science (BNS) stream. CoAS, General Chhetri Commended Ms. Rabina Maharjan with a letter of appreciation who had received "Nepal Chhatra Vidya Padak" from Rt. Honorable President of Nepal for her National best standing in Bachelor in Nursing Science(BNS).

CoAS Gen. Chhetri awarded Ms. Rajshree Singh with the Best MBBS Student of the Year award for the second time for her excellent all-round performance. The most coveted CoAS Academic Excellence Gold Medal in MBBS Program of this year was received by Ms. Anupama Thapa for her excellent academic record in Integrated Basic Medical Sciences. Late Prof. Dr.R.P.Upadhyay Memorial Gold Medal for the best Performance in Clinical Anatomy of this year was given to Mr. Devendra Bhattarai from Mr. Anil Upadhyay, the son of late Prof. Dr. R.P.Upadhyay.

Late Lt. Col. (Rtd.) Shasikala Rajbhandari Memorial Gold Medal award was given to Ms. Sabina Shrestha, a graduate of PCL Nursing Programme for her excellent all-round performance, by Mr. Dil Bikash Rajbhandari, the husband of Late Lt. Col. Shashikala Rajbhandari.

On his congratulatory speech, CoAS Gen. Chhetri lauded the faculty members and the students of NAIHS for their diligence and excelling in the University examination. CoAS Gen. Chhetri also thanked and congratulated the entire NAIHS family on their efforts in making NAIHS a prime medical education institute in the country within a short span of time. He highlighted the vision of Nepalese Army to develop NAIHS as the 'Centre of Excellence’ in the field of medical education in Nepal by expanding its services and facilities.

Brig. Gen. Prof. Dr. Brajendra Srivastav, Principal of College of Medicine, closed the formal program with a vote of thanks.

The guests and the members of NAIHS family interacted with each other in a lunch session that followed the formal program. Ms.Aarjabi Silwal, a student from College of Medicine and Ms. Biplabi Sapkota, a student from College of Nursing anchored the program.